STRANGERS

This morning, Facebook was all about balloons and confetti to wish me a wonderful “Friendversary” with someone I use to know and love, someone who is now a complete stranger.

Putting that picture below on my timeline – which I still loooove because it brings me back to that time when I was as happy as Larry in my bikini.

img_4145

And please note, I’m not nostalgic or melancholic about that time gone now.

Quite the opposite, I am glad I lived those moments. I feel lucky we get to share the same road together for little bit. And I’ll always remember the good times over the grey skies.

Anyways, this morning when that great picture popped on my timeline, I caught myself thinking: “Was it only a year ago?!”.

I am the faithful kind of person and for me, someone entering into my life is supposed to stay by my side for ever, and that’s why it’s always weird for me to remember people who had left. You know, I am the old school type, having very few people in my life and cherishing them for ever.

And I struggle to understand how people can leave that easily and not be faithful but eh, everyone is different and we don’t all operate the same.

So to me, it is very weird how two persons can switch from lovers to strangers in the blink of an eye and a year feels like it.

You spent that many days/months/years together, in love – I hope – sharing a life and all of a sudden it’s all gone. Silence has replaced laughters and your both walking separate paths from now on.

img_4119

That’s why when Facebook came to me, saying it’s been only a year when I’ve got the feeling we’ve known each other for waaaay longer than that I was a little surprised.

I’ve got a really special relation to the time as sets by watches, clocks and calendars.

I don’t believe a relationship is stronger than another because you spent more time with this person than that person.

I believe you can build something solid within minutes or few days.

And I have the feeling I’ve known certain people for a thousand life times when it’s been only few months or a year.

And I find it quite refreshing not to take care of the time spent together but only focus on how you feel/felt and appreciate the moments lived together.

So burn that calendar boy and enjoy the now with the one you love because they may leave one day. And if they do so, don’t blame them, everything happens for a reason. Sometimes we invest in people and love them just so they can be better for someone else.
Only remember the happy days and be thankful for those you loved.

Leave a comment