EXPERIENCE

Lately, I’ve spent hours looking for a job in communication – as a PR to be precise.

And almost every time, I’ve seen the same requirement asking from 5 to 10 years experience.

You might not know but I am 25 years-old and it annoys me quite a lot to miss job opportunities because of my young age.

And you want to know the funniest? Most employers would rather to work with people from my age.

So, I wasn’t very good at mathematics but I can safely count 25 – 10 = 15. As if, anyone in communication started working at 15.

And icing on the cake, employers want you to have diplomas – often master degrees – which take several years to complete. Years you logically don’t spend working because you are too busy studying.

This is how you enter that vicious cercle called: “too young yet too old”.

And what a shame it is to turn down candidates just because they don’t fit in the “enough experience” case when you meet someone with solid skills and a strong personality.

I hope if one day I have to recruit people I will always keep that look on the world I have today and give chances to people not because of their diplomas or experiences but because of their souls first.

I hope I will have the chance to give opportunity to people who don’t necessarily have the right certificates or time spent in an office.

I hope I will always keep my young soul and be that nice and fair boss everyone respect and appreciate.

And I know I will find my dream job because I am a passionate and resolute person but what a waste of time and energy trying to go over ridiculous requirements!

screen-shot-2017-01-03-at-2-03-49-pm

Theodore Roosevelt

Leave a comment