XMAS

On the 6th of December I took a plane from Perth heading to Melbourne, stoping over there for few hours before going to my finale destination: Canberra.

And on the 7th of December, as I was waiting for that second flight to the East Coast of Australia, I’ve made one of the craziest things ever: I’ve booked a ticket for somewhere else.

I had to get my already checked suitcase and buy a very last minute seat for… Paris!

This decision – completely out of the blue – was taken while waiting in Melbourne airport on the phone with one of my dearest friend to whom I was telling how much I missed doing Christmas with my family.

So I was in an airport, sad to miss another proper Christmas, with enough money to buy that outrageously expensive ticket and so I did.

So while everyone thought I was in Canberra, I showed up at my parents’ house with a Christmas tree in my arms and the biggest smile on my face.

The joy on their faces, the sparkle in their eyes and the tears flowing wild for days was priceless.

I’m over the moon I made that crazy yet very good decision!

And I’m happy to organise that Christmas 2016 surrounded by my loved ones and feeling bloody cold and Christmassy!

Australia is a gem of a country with its stunning landscapes, amazing stuff to do and awesome lifestyle but Christmas will never be the same down under. I reckon I cannot feel festive with a 35°c heat, turquoise water, white sand and bbq for Christmas – it feels soooo wrong!

This is what I did last year – and don’t get me wrong, I felt blessed to spend Christmas with my friends, sharing some quality time on a heavenly island BUT it felt like another party on the beach more than a Christmas as an European person use to do.

And I know some of my European friends will call me crazy for coming back to that freezing cold, grey and snowy time of the year when I could be in my bikinis right now instead but I would have been a grumpy and sad f*ck down there, so that’s for the best really!

So despite the weather, I’m glad I crossed the seven seas to be reunited with people I love.

It’s quite a common thing for me, traveling the globe to meet people important for me. I did it few times and almost every time it was an absolute blast to surprise them when they least expected it.

Isn’t the best feeling to see true happiness on someone’s face?

I know not everyone would travel that far, even for people they love but for me it seems quite normal and I enjoy do it a lot.

And I still enjoyed it even if some times I was wrong and me traveling the world for some people was absolutely useless because those persons were stupid enough not to realise it’s not something every one would do for them. But I believe those failures taught me big life lessons – and made nice holidays anyway!

So always follow your guts – especially when it comes to love, any kind of love – and do what they tell you.

Even if it feels crazy and people tell you not to – screw people, they’re not in your skin or truly know what’s going through your mind.

Never be afraid to jump because life will always be alright anyway, even if not immediately but definitively eventually.

tumblr_o0l2vb3jgd1tdka29o1_1280

Leave a comment