#2 STEVE & BERNIE

Following my first portrait, here’s the second one about an amazing couple I’m fortunate enough to know and I cannot thank my lucky stars enough for those two wonderful souls.

I cannot remember the first time I met Steve and Bernie. It was during my shifts in a pub, lost in a tiny coastal town of Western Australia where I use to serve them every now and then.

I always use to like them because they were unfailingly nice to me even if sometimes I struggled with the Aussie accent and didn’t get their order right.

I quickly managed to remember what they wanted and we started chatting a little while I was serving them behind the bar.

Then, I started to date someone who was one of their very good friends and that’s how I get to know them a bit more.

Usually, it doesn’t take me much time to read people and at the minute they walked into the pub, I knew they were people worth knowing and we’ll get along pretty well.

They’ve always been really nice to me, paying attention to what I said and even supporting me for my writings.

One day, they even took me on a little road trip to their farm, showing me the all property, introducing me to the animals – including very angry lamas 😂 – and making me sow some seeds on their land, which is highly meaningful to me.

And the funny thing is, I only get to know them better when I wasn’t dating their friend anymore.

They took care of me, took me under their wings and acted like both friends and parents, wanting only the best for me.

They never judged what happened and only asked me about it when I saw them again for the first time after months because they were as confused as everyone about that story and never mentioned it ever again.

They were clever enough not to talk about our break-up every time we met – and that was really refreshing because I didn’t want to ear anything about that and too many people ran at me, telling me gossips or asking me details about it.

And we had the best time enjoying beautiful sunsets with fresh beers on the beach, sharing happy and unforgettable memories together.

img_0054

They gave me their attention, time and precious protection when I needed it the most.

And I even get one of the most meaningful present I’ve ever had: Steve’s West Coast Eagles cap. Those who know him, know footy is really important for Steve and a gift representing his favourite team is everything. It means the world to me and I’ll wear it my entire life, becoming an Eagles’ fans even if I don’t care much about sport.

I feel really lucky to have amazing people like them in my life.

So thank you Steve & Bernie, thanks for everything you did and still do today.

I cannot wait to see you again down under!

Leave a comment